Kyle Vallans

Drinking Mindfully: Finding Some Balance

Subscribe to receive weekly updates!



Nothing good happens from drinking.

For the most part, we all have family or friends who have passed away due to excessive drinking. I have quite a few and it's incredibly unfortunate.

Obviously drinking is horrible and can lead to all sorts of problems. However, many of us, myself included, still indulge from time to time!

But, I've finally put some protocols in place that seem to be working. I haven't cut out alcohol completely, nor do I plan to, but I have set some ground rules.

Before I start, a book that was recommended many years back from Nikki Glaser (the comedian who crushed the Tom Brady Roast) on the Joe Rogan podcast was How To Quit Drinking by Allen Carr. I have read this book twice over the years and it's quite useful. The first time I cut out alcohol for 6 months completely, the second, a little over a year. By no means am I an alcoholic (weird even needing to say that) as I often go months without drinking and I don't even like the taste, nor would I ever drink at home, but there are nights out that get me... let me explain!

The nights out that get me are simple! We are showing up with a purpose to drink (bars or clubs). Usually, we are celebrating a friend's birthday or another event such as a bachelor party or wedding - these are the nights that are tough!

The problem is, these are the nights out that you can quickly make a fool out of yourself. Everyone is buying drinks and all of a sudden, you've had 4-7 drinks before it's even kicked in. Before you know it, you are trashed!

I have some embarrassing drunk "tendencies" that can show up and many can relate:

The list goes on, and it's incredibly embarrassing. However, after a recent night out for Bryan's 30th birthday, I finally had enough.

I looked at my camera roll the next day and had an awful picture of myself laying in bed, looking like an absolute mess with an entire box of pizza on the ground, (no idea how I got it) and a slice in my hand - why the F did I feel the need to take this...

So, after recovering from that night out, I put some protocol in place that I haven't veered away from. Let's get into it:

I have no problem having 1-2 drinks once in a while when I'm hanging out with friends or on a date, but it's just the late nights out that aren't worth it. In fact, I had a couple drinks spread out throughout the week while in Yosemite these past 5 days. I had half of a cranberry vodka while at the campsite at dinner (I didn't pour it), a half of a drink while floating down the river, and one Moscow mule while at the Ahwahnee hotel with 4 good friends. To me, this is drinking done right!

Just like many aspects of our lives, alcohol consumption also requires a framework that you follow to prevent yourself from the embarrassing "late nights out". I feel like I finally cracked the code! Drinking Mindfully & Getting Shit Done! In fact, this is the "catch phrase" for Willpower which is a Sparkling Mezcal Frezca drink that was started by Will Murphy who often host Volleyball games over the weekend in ATX to avoid the late nights out!

Here was a picture of a few of us from back in September of 2023 after a great session Saturday night at Aussies Grill and Beach Bar!

CBC96945-285B-4CB7-84E9-8B3C49E3679E


Subscribe to receive weekly updates!


If you made it this far, please hit that little toast button so I know you finished it!